Discover
Electro Carbon

Clean technology to meet today's challenges

 

Our mission

Founded in 2019, Electro Carbon's mission is to convert carbon dioxide, one of the main greenhouse gases, into a value-added green chemicals and thus contribute significantly to the fight against climate change.

 

We aim to become a leader in the active use and conversion of CO2 as a raw material through an innovative, clean electrochemical process that drives economic growth. We demonstrate the economic viability of such process.

AdobeStock_276818517.jpeg
 

Our Technology

We are developing an innovative CO2 to specialty green chemicals technology: a CO2 electrolyser.

 

This technology is part of a carbon neutral cycle, even a circular economy, where CO2 from industrial sources is captured and then converted into formate salts or formic acid which can be sold on the market, transformed into high demand products such as formaldehyde or methanol, or even used in promising new applications such as direct formic acid fuel cells.

 

1L of liquid formic acid, at room temperature and pressure, contains the equivalent of 590L of hydrogen, which can help solve the problems of hydrogen storage in traditional fuel cells, and particularly in automotive applications.

electrocarbon circulaire eng.png
 

Did you know ?

FORMATE SALTS

Formate salts are used worldwide in airport to de-ice landing strips. They cause no environmental impact and no corrosion. In Canada, all airports need to be carbon neutral by 2030. An objective aligned with carbon neutrality for the country's economy.

FORMIC ACID

Formic acid takes its name from ants, which naturally produce it and defend themselves from their predators thanks to it.

 

Today formic acid is widely used as a preservative in livestock feed as well as in the textile, pharmaceutical and chemical industries.

 

Tomorrow, formic acid could revolutionize our transportation sector.

 

Our team

 
Rocky.jpg

Martin Larocque

Martin Larocque spent the past 20 years creating and growing companies with the goal in mind to have a positive impact on society. As a passionate and results-driven entrepreneur, Martin has a desire to propel the green energy transition, by recognizing the potential of innovations applied in a business environment. 

With experience in corporate organizations combined with proven startup business expertise, Martin is prepared for the challenges of fast-moving markets. As a key executive, his contribution is centered in areas such as recognizing the innovation’s potential, positioning the solution in its industry, developing and managing the execution of R&D projects, the establishment of a commercial/sales strategy (based on a value proposition), along with the financial growth of the organization, all with a specific focus on results.
 

Ulrich Legrand, PhD

Ulrich Legrand has a PhD in chemical engineering from McGill University. Passionate about science and technology,

and sensitive to environmental causes, he decided to put his skills at the service of the fight against global warming. He has developed expertise in the synthesis and characterization of nanomaterials as well as a solid experience in catalysts for CO2 conversion.

Dave Marotte.jpg

David Marotte

David is an investor and entrepreneur who has built a company as CEO from the ground up to 600 professionals in the Information Technology and Cloud space. He is also an active and well-respected coach at l'Ecole d'Entrepreneurship de Beauce bringing complementary knowledge and expertise at Electro Carbon's executive level. 

His experience in scaling technology companies and his impressive ecosystem across industries will benefit Electro Carbon.

Our partners

Seneca.jpg
mcgill-university-logo-png-transparent.p
Polytechnique_signature-RGB-gauche_ENG.p
 
CNETE_Logo(Long).png
Fraunhofer Logo 640x360.jpg
uni sherbrooke.png
quadra 2.png
UQTR.jpg

Contact

Thank you!

Découvrez
Electro Carbon

Une technologie propre pour répondre aux enjeux actuels

 

Notre mission

Fondée en 2019, Electro Carbon a pour mission de convertir le dioxyde de carbone, un des principaux gaz à effet de serre, en produits chimiques à valeur ajoutée et ainsi contribuer significativement à la lutte contre le changement climatique.

 

Nous souhaitons devenir un chef de file dans l’utilisation active de CO2 comme matière première grâce à un procédé électrochimique innovant, propre et moteur de croissance économique. Nous parvenons à démontrer la viabilité économique d'un tel procédé.

AdobeStock_276818517.jpeg
 

Notre technologie

Nous développons une technologie innovante de réduction électrochimique du CO2 en produits chimique à valeur ajoutée (sels de formate, acide formique et autres) : un électrolyseur à CO2. 

Cette technologie vient s'inscrire dans un cycle carboneutre, voire une économie circulaire, où le CO2 de source industrielle est capté puis converti en produits chimiques verts qui pourront être vendus sur le marché, transformé en produits à fortes demandes tel le formaldéhyde ou le méthanol ou encore utilisé dans de nouvelles applications prometteuses tel les piles à combustible directe à l'acide formique.  

1L d'acide formique liquide, à température et à pression ambiante contient l'équivalent de 590L d'hydrogène, ce qui peut contribuer à résoudre les problèmes de stockage d'hydrogène dans les piles à combustible traditionnelles, et particulièrement dans les applications de transport. 

electrocarbon circulaire fr.png
 

Le saviez-vous ?

SELS DE FORMATE

Les sels de formate sont utilisés mondialement dans les aéroports pour déglacer les pistes d'attérissage. C'est un produit sans impact environnementale et sans corrosion. Au Canada, toutes les aéroports doivent être carbone neutre d'ici 2030. Un objectif qui s'aligne avec la carboneutralité de l'économie du pays prévu pour 2050.

L'ACIDE FORMIQUE

L'acide formique tire son nom des fourmis, qui le produisent naturellement afin de se défendre contre leurs prédateurs. 

Aujourd'hui l'acide formique est couramment employé comme agent de conservation dans l'alimentation du bétail ainsi que dans les industries textiles, pharmaceutiques et chimiques. 

Demain, l'acide formique pourrait révolutionner nos moyens de transport. 

 

Notre équipe

 
Rocky.jpg

Martin Larocque

Martin Larocque est impliqué depuis plus de 20 ans dans la création et la croissance d’entreprises dont le but est d’avoir un impact positif pour la société. Entrepreneur passionné avec un focus sur les résultats, Martin a le désir de propulser la transition énergétique en reconnaissant le potentiel d’une innovation appliqué dans son environnement d’affaires. 

Son expérience dans de grandes organisations, combinée à une expertise dans les entreprises en démarrage à forts potentiels ont préparé Martin pour les défis des marchés de la nouvelle économie. En tant qu’exécutif, sa contribution est centrée sur la reconnaissance du potentiel d’une innovation, le positionnement de la technologie dans son industrie, le développement et l’exécution de projets en recherche et développement, la mise en place d’une stratégie commerciale (basée sur une proposition à valeur ajoutée) en plus de la croissance financière de l’organisation, le tout basé sur l’atteinte et le dépassement d’objectifs d’affaires.
 

Ulrich Legrand, PhD

Ulrich Legrand possède un doctorat en génie chimique de l'Université McGill. Passionné par les sciences et technologies,

 et sensible aux causes environnementales, il a décidé de mettre ses compétences au service de la lutte contre le réchauffement climatique. Il a développé une expertise dans la synthèse et la caractérisation des nanomatériaux ainsi qu'une solide expérience dans les catalyseurs pour la conversion du CO2. 

Dave Marotte.jpg

David Marotte

David est un investisseur et entrepreneur à succès qui a bâti une entreprise de son garage à une firme de plus de 600 professionnels dans les Technologies de l'information. Il est également un entraîneur actif et respecté à l'École d'Entrepreneurship de Beauce apportant des expertises complémentaires au niveau exécutif pour Electro Carbon. Son expérience dans la croissance d'entreprise et son impressionnant écosystème seront bénéfiques pour Electro Carbon.

 

David agit à titre d'Ange investisseur et conseiller stratégique dans le but de faire rayonner l’entreprise au cours de ses prochaines phases de développement.

Nos partenaires

Seneca.jpg
McGill.png
Poly_french.png
 
CNETE_Logo(Long).png
Fraunhofer Logo 640x360.jpg
uni sherbrooke.png
quadra 2.png
UQTR.jpg

Contact

Merci pour votre envoi !